St Mary’s victorious in deciders

A SUCCESSFUL season of junior cricket concluded with two premierships to St Mary's Tyntynder at the weekend.

The wins capped off a season where Swan Hill District Cricket Association was well represented at Junior Country Week and in regional sides, junior coordinator Lyndon Chaproniere said.

"We won the Under 14s Country Week which was great and we had a lot of young lads picked in the regional ((Mallee Murray)) Bulls side which is always good," he said.

"The year panned out really well, but we are always looking out for more numbers."

Under 17s

St Mary's Tyntynder downed minor premier Northern Razorbacks in an expectedly tight grand final at Woorinen on Friday night.

At the end of a long weekend of cricket, it proved some comfort for man of the match Jonty Chaproniere and premiership teammates Brent Daniels, Austin McKerrow and Jesse Alty who were unable to get up in the A grade decider against RSL.

Lyndon Chaproniere said the top order batting and fielding of St Mary's had been key differences in the outcome for two evenly matched sides.

"((The teams)) were pretty close so it was really fifty-fifty going in," he said.

"St Mary's probably had a little bit more experience with the guys that had played senior cricket."

Jonty Chaproniere top scored with 41 for St Mary's which finished with 170.

Despite the best efforts of opener Joel Walsh (44), the Razorbacks fell 32 runs short.

Jonty Chaproniere snagged a couple of scalps with the ball, to strengthen his claim on the best player medal.

Under 14s

The Saints finished off the Under 14s grand final as expected, after getting a big head start on Swan Hill Lakers the week before.

Dom Gallo was named man of the match at Nyah on Saturday morning, after top scoring with 28 for St Mary's, before taking 1/15 off seven overs.

Lakers batsmen Connor Laity (10), Kayle Ashworth (13), and Tyler Sixsmith (17) all got starts but were unable to push on to bigger scores, with the runners-up falling 55 runs short.

Jordan Humphreys and Angus Forrester claimed three wickets each with the ball for SHL, while Jacob King also scored a triple to be the leading wicket taker for the premiers.

St Mary's was a worthy champion after getting on top on day one and being undefeated for the year.